Australian, New Zealand & Papua New Guinea Military Aircraft Serials & History

RAAF Series 1
1921 to 1934

Powered by FreeFind

Site search
Web search
Hosted by:
Integrity Technical Solutions



The first series of type allocations beginning with the formation of the RAAF in 1921.

Aircraft History Page Aircraft Image Gallery Aircraft History Page Aircraft Image Gallery
A1 - de Havilland D.H.9A De Havilland D.H.9A
A1-16 A2 - RAF S.E.5a Royal Aircraft Factory S.E.5a
AWM photo
A3 - Avro 504 Avro 504K 
A3-4 A4 - Sopwith Pup Sopwith Pup
Photo via Ken Rowland
A5 - Vikers Vimy Vimy G-EAOU, Point Cook, c.1920.via Mike Mirkovic. A5 - Westland Wapiti Westland Wapiti
A6 - de Havilland D.H.9 De Havilland D.H.9
Nhill, Vic. 
June 1922
Photo Nhill Historical Society via Kevin OReilly A7 - de Havilland D.H.60 Moth Series Highlight for Album: DH.60X Cirrus Moth 
A8 - de Havilland D.H.50A

(Also A10 - de Havilland D.H.50A in RAAF Series 2)

De Havilland D.H.50A 
Point Cook 1923
Photo via Ken Rowland A9 - Supermarine Seagull III Highlight for Album: Seagull III A9-9
A10 - Fairey IIID Fairey IIID
Photo via Ken Rowland A11 Felixstowe F5
(Not Taken Up)
Felixstowe F5 
Image via Brendan Cowan
A11 - Supermarine Southampton I Supermarine Southampton 
A11-2 refuelling at Welshpool 
October 1933 A12 - Bristol Bulldog IIA Bristol Bulldog 
Photo via Ken Rowland

Page Authors: Darren Crick, Brendan Cowan & Martin Edwards

Page Updated  07th April 2020


It is our policy to only show historical events, no current operational information will be displayed on this website.
 "The ADF-Serials team give permission to use the content of this page, excluding images, providing that it contains an acknowledgement to the adf-serials team and any other listed sources."